Many apps available on iPhones often use Bluetooth access under their user’s noses. However, Apple has given the power to users to prevent this from happening and protect their own privacy. All of this is now possible in the latest iOS 13 update.
To check your Bluetooth settings on your iPhone, go to the Settings menus and find the Privacy options. The Bluetooth settings will show you a list of apps relying on this feature and allow the user to tick the ones they need.
It would be smart to turn off all Bluetooth use for all apps except the ones that are frequently used. However, some apps cease to work properly without the Bluetooth use. Basing from those few conditions, users can decide which apps could stay using Bluetooth.
Other than Bluetooth use, some apps also use location details behind the user’s back. To prohibit apps from doing this, the Privacy options in the Settings app also has the “Location Services” button. The user will then be showed with a list of their apps which can now be edited.
The choices for location checks for each app are Never, Ask Next Time, While Using The App, and Always. Again, the user will have to check which apps they use much and which ones will stop functioning correctly without the location information.
Many apps often rely on Bluetooth and location information to work correctly to predict and suggest what the user might need in their vicinity. However, these apps often does these processes secretly which could be a breach of privacy for users. These sensitive information could be used against the user and doesn’t help that the user never consciously agreed to send these information.
Both these two features are only available on the iOS 13 update. Older iPhones may not have this update as Apple often leaves out their past devices for new updates as new technology comes out.
Later this year, Apple is planning to release new services and apps which could also have these Bluetooth and location trackers. Again, it’s up to the iPhone user to manage these settings.